Community Role

The City of Dayton’s Human Relations Council houses the Welcome Dayton Office. Its purpose is to facilitate and support community goals and projects that promote the integration of immigrants into the Greater Dayton community. However, Welcome Dayton is not another government-run program. It is a community initiative and requires the involvement of both individuals and institutions to be successful.

The City Commission created the Welcome Dayton Committee to help provide guidance in achieving the goal of being immigrant friendly city.  The members of the Committee are:

  1. Dorothy Balser, Manager, Refugee Resettlement and Mission Services, Catholic Social Services of the Miami Valley
  2. Kimberly Barrett, Vice President for Multicultural Affairs and Community Engagement, Wright State University
  3. David Burrows, Director, Economic Development Programs, Dayton Development Coalition
  4. Marsha Greer, Director of Educational Programs, Parity, Inc.
  5. Ismail Gula, President, Islamic Society of Greater Dayton
  6. Keith Jenkins, Director of Human Resources, Grandview Medical Center/Southview Medical Center
  7. Yonathan Kebede, Director of Service Line Integration, Premier Health Partners
  8. Migwe Kimemia, Director, American Friends Service Committee
  9. Timothy Kao, Center for International Programs, University of Dayton
  10. David Larson, Attorney at Law, Altick & Corwin
  11. Jan Lepore-Jentleson, Executive Director, East End Community Services
  12. Mimi Morris, Assistant Director, Dayton Metro Library
  13. Pat Newcomb, Director, Small Business Development Center
  14. Stephanie Precht, Director, Public Policy and Economic Development, Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce
  15. Tom Raga, Vice President, External Relations, DP&L
  16. Jessica Ramos, Attorney at Law, Advocates for Basic Legal Equality (ABLE)
  17. Allison Rhea, Director of International Programs, Sinclair Community College
  18. Monica Schultz, Principal, MMS Messaging, LLC
  19. Ericha Schuster, Job & Family Services Supervisor, Montgomery County Jobs and Family Services
  20. Joe Spitler, Criminal Justice Liaison, Montgomery County
  21. Sister Maria Stacey, Director, Hispanic Catholic Ministries
  22. Teresa Troyer, ESL Coordinator, Dayton Public Schools
  23. Mary Tyler, Executive Director, National Conference for Community and Justice of Greater Dayton
  24. Kenneth Webb, Community Relationship Manager, Fifth/Third Bank
  25. Anthony Whitmore, Director of Government and Community Relations, RTA

Click here to read more about the committee.