The City of Dayton’s Human Relations Council houses the Welcome Dayton Office. Its purpose is to facilitate and support community goals and projects that promote the integration of immigrants into the Greater Dayton community. However, Welcome Dayton is not another government-run program. It is a community initiative and requires the involvement of both individuals and institutions to be successful.

The City Commission created the Welcome Dayton Committee to help provide guidance in achieving the goal of being an immigrant-friendly city.  The members of the Committee are:

  1. Kimberly Barrett, Vice President for Multicultural Affairs and Community Engagement, Wright State University
  2. Claudia Cortez, Director, Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
  3. Tony Cruz, Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Affairs, Sinclair Community College
  4. Marsha Greer, Director of Educational Programs, Parity, Inc.
  5. Ismail Gula, President, Islamic Society of Greater Dayton
  6. Rachel Gut, Deputy Director, Dayton Metro Library
  7. Deb Hall, Assistant Director of Social Services and Income Support, Montgomery County Jobs and Family Services
  8. Matt Joseph, Dayton City Commissioner, City of Dayton
  9. Yonathan Kebede, Director of Service Line Integration, Premier Health Partners
  10. Migwe Kimemia, Director, American Friends Service Committee
  11. David Larson, Attorney at Law, Altick & Corwin
  12. Jan Lepore-Jentleson, Executive Director, East End Community Services
  13. Theo Majka, Professor, University of Dayton
  14. Katie Miller, Coordinator of Adult Basic Literacy Education Program, Kettering ABLE
  15. Pat Newcomb, Director, Small Business Development Center
  16. Stephanie Precht, Director, Public Policy and Economic Development, Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce
  17. Jessica Ramos, Attorney at Law, Advocates for Basic Legal Equality (ABLE)
  18. Amy Schrimpf, Government Affairs Consultant, Dayton Development Coalition
  19. Monica Schultz, Principal, Windblown Communications, LLC
  20. Joe Spitler, Criminal Justice Liaison, Montgomery County
  21. Sister Maria Stacy, Director, Hispanic Catholic Ministries
  22. Alena Seiler, Assistant Vice President, Community & Economic Development, Fifth Third Bank
  23. Mary Tyler, Executive Director, National Conference for Community and Justice of Greater Dayton
  24. Tom Wahlrab, Community Member
  25. Anthony Whitmore, Director of Government and Community Relations, RTA